Board of Directors

The IDA’s board of directors and its finance committee meet monthly. The board is comprised of volunteer business and civic leaders who serve three-year terms and are eligible for re-election by the board to a second term. Officer terms are for two years.

The board sets organizational policy, goals, objectives and operational parameters; approves strategic plans, annual plans and budgets prepared by the staff; and ensures that all programmatic, financial and fiduciary responsibilities are fulfilled. Standing committees are By-laws, Executive, Finance, Nominating and Personnel.

2018 Current Members Are:

Mayor Larry Means, President Mayor, City of Attalla
Harry McLendon, Treasurer
Board of Directors (Voting)
Martha Lavender Gadsden State Community College
Greg Bennett Alabama Technology Network
Chad Hare Gadsden Water Works and Sewer Board
Tony Reddick Gadsden City Schools
Alan Cosby Etowah County Schools
Tim McCartney Alabama Workforce Council
Harry McLendon Retired
Mike Harris Machine Products Co., Inc.
Mayor Larry Means Mayor, City of Attalla
Steve Hildebrant Alabama Power Company
Tim Heard Retired Gadsden State Community College
John Reed Transitions Job Coach
Mike Shannon Shannon, Banks & Smith, Inc.
Earl Heard Retired from State of Alabama, current owner of Heard's Janitorial Service
Carol Gilliland Koller-Craft South
Jan Rowe Honda, Inc.
Wilbur "Bubba" Masters President of Regions Bank
Ex-Officio Directors (Non-Voting)
Mayor Sherman Guyton Mayor, City of Gadsden
Frankie Davis Director of Economic Development, City of Gadsden
Deverick Williams Gadsden City Council
Ben Reed Gadsden City Council
Mayor Wally Burns Etowah County Mayor's Association
David Hooks Executive Director - Gadsden - Etowah Industrial Development Authority

Past Presidents Are:

1985 - 1986 Henry Culp, Jr.
1987 - 1988 Joe Carden
1989 - 1990 Kent Henslee
1991 - 1992 Peter V. Gregerson, Sr.
1993 - 1994 Guy Woodliff
1995 - 1996 Ray Smith
1997 - 1998 Victor B. Ficker
1999 - 2000 William G. Peppenhorst
2000 - 2002 Marsue Lancaster
2002 - 2004 Wayne O'Stean
2004 - 2006 Willie Maise
2006 - 2008 Wayne Hollar
2008 - 2010 Wilbur Masters
2010 - 2012 Tim McCartney
2012 - 2014 Jimmy Hill
2014 - 2018 Greg Gregerson